The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a government framework which exists to support all professionals working with children aged 0-5. All registered nurseries must follow the EYFS framework.

Your child’s nursery experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure. Their development, care and learning needs will be well supported.

The EYFS is based around four distinct but complimentary themes, which underpin all the guidance:

A Unique Child

Every child is unique and is constantly learning; they can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

This framework ensures “the child” as an individual is central focus and the starting point for all planning of activities and continuous provision within all areas of the nursery.

Download Your Parent’s Guide to EYFS

Ready to Book?

Ready to Book?